So many things to do, so little time

And it’s annoying to be honest.

So far I’ve decided to try out the following:

  • Join a corporation that is into faction warfare (Gallente militia). I came across these guys. They seem like a nice fit.
  • Also join a nullsec bloc corporation and live life inside a blue(ish) donut. I keep seeing these YT roam videos with small zergs, seems like fun
  • Experience a NPSI fun fleet. Now I just have to find one that is not planned in weird timeslot. I mean 15:00 in the afternoon? Who has time to sit behind their PC during an afternoon uninterrupted?
  • Get into higher tiers of Abyssal deadspace
  • Get into higher escalation tiers of DED missions
  • Do some C1 or C2 wormhole ratting

The solo wannabee pirate life is going to get shelved. It is way to time-consuming, and not to mention somewhat boring. Yesterday I decided to venture out into lowsec and find me an easy target to gank. System after system, either empty voids or people in Lokis gatecamping. The occasional frigate that is doing faction warfare, lots of pods zooming by.

And then, there he was. A lonely venture out in the wild. Oh boy, right when I was about to call it quits. The lord rewards a patient man doesn’t he?

Nope he doesn’t. I forgot … ventures are made with default +2 warp stabs, and that means you need to pay attention during fitting. Yeah, he was down to armor when he warped of. So that was an hour well spent …

I really don’t get the people that complain about highsec being unsafe and how the ganking is out of control. I mean, I had to look for over an hour to even find a target to gank. No, the people that complain about this are looking at this from the wrong angle.

What is broken and out of control is alts. People playing with 2-3-6-10 accounts at the same time. Yeah, you come across these people a lot during your time in EVE Online. Most aren’t even shy about it and just add a 001, 002, 003 … at the end of their character name. Look at the majority of EVE streamers and YT creators. All play with a minimum of 3 alts.

That what I should have done. Scout with an alt in a cloaked ship, slowboat next to it, and warp in my main in a T3 cruiser with so much alpha damage it would have instagibbed the poor venture.

Like the guy in a Loki sitting at the Resbroko gate from highsec to lowsec. All day long. Blapping frigates, and haulers, and capsules. Look at it. Dear lord. All is fair in love and war and EVE Online I guess? Now you could say it’s not much different than a cloaked ship jumping a Venture in an astroid belt … Or could you?

Recently CCP decided to send out an email with your year in review statistics. They are puzzling to be honest. I have not logged that many hours in total since returning, but still I’m in the top 40% of players? That is weird.

Again, not sure what the next stop is. Faction warfare seems nice, but it’s going to be a PITA funding it, not to mention refitting and all that.

Shut up Mick, because it really is not.
Everything takes so damn long in EVE, which is a good thing. It’s not instant gratification. But unless you have been playing for years on end and have a fortune sitting on the side, something easy as faction warfare is a time sink just to be able to fund it. Because you are bound to loose a f*ckton of ships in the process.

Wormhole space?
I’m the king of wormhole scanning. I am. For some reason every anomaly I scan down is a wormhole. Give me combat anomalies please thank you. So maybe join a wormhole corporation? Seems interesting. Kingdom of Bretonia corporation peaked my interest. They had a reddit thread going not to long ago about a big battle in their wormhole. Sounds cool, but I have no idea how you could survive all that as a newbie. Also replacing ships, restocking … challenging it seems. But solo wormhole living, lots of cool YT videos about that as well.

There is also Noir, a mercenary corporation that does all kinds of things. There are based in Thera, which I never heared about. That actually makes wormhole life more interesting. A central wormhole hub that has threads all over known space. How amazing. See, so many things you are unaware of as a ‘new’ player.

Leave a comment