Glory to the Gallente Federation

Or so they made me believe …

I made the decision to join Faction Warfare. Spur of the moment thing. I knew what I was getting into. And no, not talking about the actual pewpew or exploding ship stuff. None of that actually. There has been literally no pewpew or explosions so far.

Reasons for that? … Well … I did expect actually.
You see, in the past I may have referred EVE PVP to Call of Duty. There is a twist ofcourse, in that there is a lot more to it. PVP in EVE is a lot like rock, paper, scissors. And a fight is often decided beforehand, depending on the fits, starting point, skills combined with server ticks.

But imagine for a moment that in order to play Call of Duty, you had to first:

  • Get you hands on ingame currency to buy weapons/gear
  • Craft or buy your weapons every single time you respawn
  • Get all the logistics done to deploy your weapons near/towards the frontlines of battle after every respawn

Yep something like that. The vast majority of people would stop playing in a heartbeat.

So I joined a Gallente FW corporation. The Frog Pond. It was recommended ingame to me. After some checking they are the newbie group of a pretty known group of Gallente FW players. So after applying I had to:

  • Register to discord #1 frog Pond
  • Register to the Frog Pond AUTH service
  • Give full ESI access
  • Link discord to Frog Pond AUTH service
  • Register and give ESI access to the main corp AUTh thing to get acccess to Teamspeak
  • Also link to discord
  • Register to Galmil & Galmil HQ AUTH for ESI and link discord
  • And some other stuff I’m probably forgetting

So now there is a **ton of new shit in my discord, I’ve been granted access to a lot of reading guides here and there. Do note, this was 2 hours into my precious evening gametime already.

Now, please, I mean no disrespect to anyone. Obviously the people running this are committed. They are doing this for free(?) in their spare time. I get the ESI stuff and the need to make sure there are no rotten apples to ruin everyones fun. But goddamn … you know?

Doing my part in the defence of the Federation

So where is this going to take me?
No idea. Hopefully the LP I can make will provide a decent income to fund the inevitable losses. In the coming weeks hopefully I’ll have more time in the evenings to join some fleets, see how that works.

EVE is a game that gives back what you put into it, but if you are lacking time in the first place, then … yeah, you can be left wondering.

Leave a comment