Defender of the lands

Is what I have chosen to do. It’s basically a cat and mouse game. You go into a plex, and wait out a timer. If it runs out, you get LP. And if someone else shows up and is flashing orange/red, you warp of. Now I’m sure it could be way more interesting if there is actual combat involved, but alas this is EVE Online, and it’s not exactly a fair and decent game.

Allow me to explain, but first … this:

Never thought I would get to meet a Wingspan employee

As usual in this household, a relaxing and uninterrupted gaming session is unheared of, so for reasons that will be kept a secret, I had to go AFK. Seeing how I was into faction warfare zones I figured being in a safe would be all right. Well, I guess not.

That is hilarious. Also notice how he ganked me in a Nereus hauler? Genius …

Anyway, back to the war.
The Gallente (green) are clearly the underdog here, because they are loosing the war. Or not. I have no clue. If you check the warmap there is more blue than green.

This little fukker kept respawning and respawning.

So I did manage to get into a social groove I guess. Installed teamspeak and sat in the one of the fleet rooms. Missed out on a response fleet because there was an issue with the authentication and I kept getting errors. When I did manage to get it working the fleet was done. So I roamed around a bit, following the guys in TS and understood little. I did learn about the battlefields, where the big LP gains are, etc.

But I do wonder what the new player retention is on this. People often point out FW as a good starting point for new players to get into PVP. I challenge that. No way. FW is either where you come across some of the best PVP players out there, players with amazing knowledge about the rock, paper, scissors that is EVE ships. Players that also bling out the living daylight out of their ships. Yes I’m talking to you dude that called me out because I wouldn’t engage in my Rifter while you were flying a Nergal.
And then there are the multiboxers that roam around with a fleet of destroyers.

So yeah, I’m all set for the new year.

Leave a comment